Born Slaves

In Romans the writer makes a bunch of metaphors. He says that man is born a slave to sin. But he can become a slave to obedience, which will make him a slave to righteousness and in the end a slave to God.

A definition of slave from Dictionary.com says “a person entirely under the domination of some influence or person”

So what is the Bible trying to say? We are slaves of sin so we have no self control? We have no choice in the matter? We are dominated by the desire to sin? But then we can break free of this servitude and trade it for another.

Sin wave.... Sin... get it?

Sin wave…. Sin… get it?

Then what? We are the same way, but for the glory of God instead of the self absorption of sin?

This is very confusing to me. I always considered life to be a series of choices not a series of submissions. Is it possible to not be a slave to God, but to still spread his word and be a righteous person? The Bible seems to be telling me to trade in one set of chains for another.

It seems to always come back to this type of thing. I had a problem when Jesus said to love him more than your children and now I am having a problem with the idea that we are supposed to be a slave to obedience. Maybe I need to embrace the idea that I am just a mere man and cannot hold a candle to God.

Bible Read: Romans 6

One thought on “Born Slaves

Leave a comment